LEYDEN HIGHLIGHTS – December, 2012

| January 1, 2013


District 212 has received notification that 69 students have achieved Advanced Placement Scholar status this past year.

Although Leyden had more than 69 students who took and passed AP exams, AP Scholars are students recognized by the College Board as having taken at least three AP exams, earning passing grades of 3 or higher out of 5 during their high school career

“It is exceptional to note that at least half of the AP Scholars at East and about a third of the students at West are current seniors,” says Mikkel Storaasli, Assistant Superintendent for Curriculum and Instruction.  “This means they attained AP Scholar status after their junior year.  To attain this status is quite an achievement.”

The following is a list of the AP Scholars from both campuses. 


 AP Scholar:  Andrei Andreev, Teresita Arciniega, Carlyn Condo, Anna Cylwik, Yesenia Diaz,

Daniel Dimaso, Nicholas Fatigato, Kryztal Gonzalez, Natalia Herrera, Kamil Kesek, Lukasz Kosakowski, Tomasz Kubas, Stefan Modrich, Rebecca Monarrez, Amanda Narkis, Jennifer Sacksteder, Joseph Saenger, Vishal Shah, Sylwia Sokolowski, Julia Stankiewicz, Ernest Stapor, Rebecca Strauss, Dana Sullivan, Andrea Urueta, and Luis Vera

 AP Scholar with Honor:  Justyna Chojnowski, Richard Krajewski, Frank Landowski, Colleen Malo, Juan Ramirez, Andrzej Skubis, and Michelle Zen Zola

 AP Scholar with Distinction:  Ashley Boyte, Jesse Fuentes, Pawel Galusza, Isamar Mata, Brooke Matz, Rebecca Rasmussen, Tautvydas Shuipys, Michelle Stephens, and Amber White.

 National AP Scholar:  Pawel Galusza


AP ScholarYarasel Almaraz, Jennifer Alvarado, Sofia Argueta, Kayla Cornelius, Madison Criss, Froylan Delgado, Caitlin Donegan, Haley Ferrari, Jaime Garza, Norma Hernandez, Adrianna Jelen, Sararose Lagreca, Emanuel Lazcano, Kevin Mathias, Justin Mozelle, Cynthia Saavedra, Adela Svobodova, and Justin Thomas

AP Scholar with Honor:  Katelyn Gonzalez, Joseph Hillertz, Daniel Reyes, Alexis Rios, and Robert Woods

 AP Scholar with Distinction:  Maegan Davis, Jose Esparza, Deanna Gonzalez, Marian Hjelmgren, and Sylwia Kokoszka 


The following East Leyden High School students were honored at the EXCEPTIONAL EAGLE BREAKFAST on Thursday, December 13, 2012, at 7:00 a.m. at the school.  The monthly breakfast is held to recognize students for their extraordinary effort, special achievements, and academic excellence.  Parents and nominating teachers also are invited to attend.

The students and the departments they represent are:  Amanda Laskowski, Art; Maria Calderon, Bilingual/ESL; Penka Eneva, Business Education; A.J. Parcero, English; Samantha Martini, Family and Consumer Sciences; Jacquilyn Frausto, Family and Consumer Sciences; Mike Greco, Individual Achievement; Piotr Dabek, Industrial Technology; Caprael Jones, Literacy; Ronahy Alzagha, Mathematics; Roberto Garcia, Modern Languages; Frank Landowski, Modern Languages; Alejandra Zavala, Music; Christina Perez, Physical Education;  Molly Biagi, Science; Pawel Armatys, Science; Yareli Paz, Social Studies; Eric Monette, Guided Study; Zayra Mondragon, Online Credit Recovery; Annalisa Jamnik, Theater; and Ralph Reinhofer, Student Aide.


The Illinois Student Assistance Commission (ISAC) has announced the names of the 2013-2014 Illinois State Scholars.  In Illinois, 18, 863 students from 749 high schools were recognized as Illinois State Scholars.  District 212 has a total of 50 students who qualify as State Scholars.

Illinois’ top students elect to have test scores and high school class rank sent to ISAC for consideration in the popular program.  Seniors who rank in the top ten percent of the state’s high schools are designated as Illinois State Scholars and receive a Certificate of Achievement for their outstanding academic performance.  Selection is based on SAT, ACT and/or Prairie State Achievement Exam test scores, and/or class rank at the end of junior year.

Illinois State Scholars from East Leyden are:  Edessa Adde, Teresita Arciniega, Justyna Chojnowski, Todd Cruz, Anna Cylwik, Daniel DiMaso, Michael Doody, Samantha Dowiarz, Jessica Dreyer, Jory Dvorak, Araly Flores, Jesse Fuentes, Alexandra Garay, Natalia Herrera, Tomasz Karwas, Kamil Kesek, Richard Krajewski, Tomasz Kubas, Frank Landowski, Colleen Malo, Bartosz Miskowiec, Rebecca Monarrez, Danielle Piekarz, Ana Pranjic, Juan Ramirez, Rebecca Rasmussen, Ralph Reinhofer, Elissa Segura, Ernest Stapor, Tiana Stephens, Rebecca Strauss, Luis Vera, and Kailyn Wnek.

Illinois State Scholars from West Leyden are:  Nicholas Avila, Kayla Cornelius, Andrea Diaz, Jaime Garza, Nicole Haltom, Joseph Hillertz, Adrianna Jelen, Justin Mozelle, Grzegorz Panek, Charle Pethsomvong, Juliani Rada, Teresa Rodriguez, Andrew Skylakos, Michael Smith, Justin Thomas, Martha Womersley, and Robert Woods.

“Excellent high school grades are important for laying the groundwork for future college success,” says an ISAC spokesperson.  “Illinois State Scholars are the best and the brightest in our state’s high schools, and we salute them, their families, and their teachers on this achievement.”


Caroline Felix, an art teacher at West Leyden, and Todd Veltman, a science teacher also at the West campus, have obtained National Board Certification and a Master Certificate from the National Board for Professional Teaching Standards (NBPTS).

To obtain this coveted certification, Felix, who lives in Glen Ellyn, and Veltman, who lives in Riverside, completed a rigorous process that included ten assessments reviewed by trained teachers in their certificate area.  These assessments included four portfolio entries that featured teaching practice and six constructed response exercises that accessed their content knowledge; student work samples and videotapes; and thorough analysis of classroom teaching and student learning.

The NBPTS Standards are based on the Five Core Propositions that form the foundation for that which all accomplished teachers should know and be able to do.  The propositions also provide a reference that helps educators link teaching standards to teaching practice.

The Five Core Propositions are:   Teachers are committed to students and their learning; teachers know the subjects they teach and how to teach those subjects to students; teachers are responsible for managing and monitoring student learning; teachers think systematically about their practice and learn from experience; and teachers are members of learning communities.

Caroline Felix and Todd Veltman will receive a $3,000 stipend from the district for their achievement.

Tags: , , , ,

Category: Articles, Community News

Comments are closed.